Amarre 69

One of my favorite restaurants here in Barcelona is one that I feel is often overlooked. I actually stumbled upon Amarre 69 by accident with some friends back in March. We had spent a majority of the day at the beach and after watching the sunset, we were all starving after having lost track of time. We opted for a restaurant right by the beach that  looked warm and inviting, and had displayed a menu with a lot of different options for our varying tastes.

We sat at a comfortable table outside and even though it was a bit chilly, the outside heaters, along with the complimentary blankets and seat cushions made it more than comfortable and toasty enough for our meal. The outside sitting area was decorated with plants and soft lighting to tie in the inside and outdoor area and was extremely pleasant, and aesthetically pleasing, and ultimately led us to the restaurant in the first place. After all, there are a row of what seems like endless restaurants by Barceloneta, but Amarre 69 stood out. With it’s vibrant sign, lit candles, and funky furniture, it caught our eye.

photo0jpg

I was with three of my friends from America, who were visiting me for their Spring Break. Although the menu had a variety of delicious options, I decided we first needed a pitcher of Sangria, and some Patatas Bravas to start us off, after all, we are in Barcelona.

IMG_9083

My friends, of course, loved both of my choices. Then, it was time for entrees. Two of the girls ordered the Grilled Chicken Sandwiches, that came complete with avocado, mozzarella, and basil, and raved about it. My other friend, Nicole, ordered just the nachos as her entree! It may seem a bit strange to order as a meal, but she is a nacho fanatic and when her large dish arrived topped with cheddar cheese, jalapeños, fried beans, spicy sauce and guacamole she could not hide her excitement. According to her, they tasted even better than they looked! Lastly, I ordered the Cheeseburger.Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

 

And I can honestly say, IT WAS THE BEST BURGER I HAVE EVER HAD. The
cheeseburger was almost the size of my head, stacked with gooey cheese, onions, bacon, lettuce, tomato and finally topped with an egg, with the yolk runny, my mouth, along with everyone else’s at the table completely dropped when it was put in front of me. Although I had a lot difficulty trying to fit the monstrosity into my mouth, it was more than worth it. The burger was juicy, perfectly seasoned, and the numerous toppings only added to it. I made my friends try it too; and it was, in fact, the best burger they had ever had as well.

 

 

IMG_9084.JPG

 

 

 

We enjoyed Amarre69 so much we ended up going inside to grab some drinks at the bar, and spotted a comfortable sectional in the back corner which we lounged at while a live guitarist performed in the corner! It was quite a unique, fun, and young atmosphere, and would highly recommend it to anyone, especially after a day at the beach!

Leave a Reply

